Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Strange applicaton problem of :Rebuild of indices
Strange applicaton problem of :Rebuild of indices [message #276991] Sat, 27 October 2007 14:04 Go to next message
orausern
Hi,

We have a strange problem. From the front end a load of data is done into several tables (including one that has a blob in it). Now after this load is done several times , rebuild of indices of these tables must be done else the process hangs...this situation occurs in only in schema, but not in any other schemas that identical...can you plesase guide in this regard as to how I should approach the problem...being a dba I have access only to backend not the front end.

Thanks,
Nirav
Re: Strange applicaton problem of :Rebuild of indices [message #276993 is a reply to message #276991] Sat, 27 October 2007 14:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
DreamzZ
How you know that indexes hang your process?
After load did you check the validity of your indexes?

One more thing if you don't rebuild indexes but you collect the statistics on those tables?
Re: Strange applicaton problem of :Rebuild of indices [message #276994 is a reply to message #276991] Sat, 27 October 2007 14:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/84315/74940/

>rebuild of indices of these tables must be done else the process hangs.

"hang" is a somewhat ambiguous term.

What does SQL_TRACE of this session reveal?

SELECT DECODE(request,0,'Holder: ','Waiter: ')||sid sess,
id1, id2, lmode, request, type
FROM V$LOCK
WHERE (id1, id2, type) IN
(SELECT id1, id2, type FROM V$LOCK WHERE request>0)
ORDER BY id1, request
/

Will report the holder & the waiter sessions & must be run while "hang" occurs

[Updated on: Sat, 27 October 2007 14:33] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator