Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » creation of Database
creation of Database [message #210715] Fri, 22 December 2006 00:12 Go to next message
sagi
Embarassed

I am totaly new to oracle Daatabase . I installed oracle 9i and create a database . it working fine. Then again add one more database that also create sucessfully. In the service manage it show 2 oracle service runing. but currently I am able to use only one datavase ie. which i currently created.
Please help me. Also I wanted to know that in the same machine can we use two database .

What is the relation ie. One database and one instance, More database and one instance

Please let know ? As i mentioned I am new to it

Re: creation of Database [message #210735 is a reply to message #210715] Fri, 22 December 2006 02:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
What is your background? If it is MS Access or similar, perhaps you mixed the "database" term. Did you, perhaps, want to create another user instead of another database?
Re: creation of Database [message #210742 is a reply to message #210735] Fri, 22 December 2006 02:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sagi
Sir I am using Windows 2003 as OS and Oracle 9i as Database.
When I create a database name XX , it run a service oraxxXX. In the same way i create one more database YY it start run another ervice oraxxYY.
Now I came to know from one of our member by changing the ORACLE_SID Envirnoment variable we can use it. But i still want to know

Can we run tow database XX,YY by using one instance
do we need two differet listner for these database .

Please clarify
Re: creation of Database [message #210884 is a reply to message #210742] Fri, 22 December 2006 23:06 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mohammad Taj

Hi,
One database and one instance, More database and one instance
One Database = One Instance.
I wanted to know that in the same machine can we use two database .