Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » DBA Best Practices
DBA Best Practices [message #119932] Mon, 16 May 2005 15:08 Go to next message
toddlane
Hi - I am new to the world of Oracle DBAs, and I am looking for a little guidance.

In order to make sure I do the best job possible, I am looking for tips and best practices in regards to general DBA and security. For example, someone told me that the alert logs can become huge over time and this needs to be taken care of. The more tips the better...anything from security to logs to general rules I should follow, etc.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd
Re: DBA Best Practices [message #120462 is a reply to message #119932] Thu, 19 May 2005 22:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sunil_v_mishra
hi,

When ever you come in your office see the alert log file for any type of error in it ... and if you find no error than delete alert log file ... coz oracle create alert log file automatically. daily you have to read alert log file as a DBA.

Delete trace file if error shown by trace file is solved by you.

Another thing if your database is in archive log mode than delete your archive file after taking hotbackup.

Dont allow user or someone else to sit on Machine on which database is present for security of physical file of database.

Always check how many user r there in ur database by querying dba_users table coz by this u can know who are the new user enter in your database . if you find any one new and you know that you had not made him/her user of datbase .. then that user is intruder so check its ip from where he is accessing the database and block that user to access the database.

DBA should know from where he should get answer to solve the error that occured in database.

Always have mirroring of redolog lifes on seprate disk.

Do multiplexing of control file.

All user tablespce shuould be different.

User should not allowed to store data in system tablespace.