Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » 8i enterprise manager problem
8i enterprise manager problem [message #62952] Fri, 27 August 2004 06:30 Go to next message
shuttledude
I have successfully installed the trial version of 8i server and a client.  When I launch the enterprise manager to connect, it will not log me on.  I'm using the default values for the userid and password suggested in the documentation ( sysadm / oem_orig ).  Is this password correct?  Maybe there is a typo in the user documentation.

The server and client are both on the same workgroup, not part of the domain that contains my company's DNS server.  Could that be part of the problem (i.e., if I re-install on two computers that have joined the domain, would that fix the problem)?

This is my very first experience with Oracle, I have no prior knowledge, and I have been given the sole responsibility of "making it work".  No training provided either, naturally.  So, any help is appreciated.  The documentation listed a 1-800 toll free number for trial version tech support, but that # is out of service.  :-(
Re: 8i enterprise manager problem [message #63022 is a reply to message #62952] Thu, 02 September 2004 07:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BThiru
Please specify the OS and Oracle release, that will help,cos the "sysadm/ oem_orig" userid-passwd combination doesnt sound right .
Re: 8i enterprise manager problem [message #63025 is a reply to message #63022] Thu, 02 September 2004 10:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
shuttledude
Operating System is Windows 2000 Server. This is for Oracle Database 8i Release 3 (version 8.1.7). The CD pack is stamped "APR-01 Release".

The Oracle Enterprise Manager is "Release 2.2.0.0.0 Production". I am trying to use the Enterprise Manager to log on to the Management Server.

Thanks very much for your response!!