Home » Open Source » Programming Interfaces » How to create Oracle database using Php code?
icon5.gif  How to create Oracle database using Php code? [message #441399] Sun, 31 January 2010 08:17 Go to next message
gens
Is that possible to create a new Oracle database using PHP code? I know that it is possible to create MySql database using PHP. I'm new to Oracle database. Thanks in advance.
Re: How to create Oracle database using Php code? [message #441401 is a reply to message #441399] Sun, 31 January 2010 08:31 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
It is possible ONLY if you are on the database server not via an application server.
And in this case why not using SQL*Plus?

Regards
Michel
icon7.gif  Re: How to create Oracle database using Php code? [message #441422 is a reply to message #441401] Mon, 01 February 2010 01:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gens
Thanks for reply!

I'm MySql + PHP developer for many years. Recently I just trying Oracle db. I have a MySql utility (PHP class) that performs common tasks like CREATE, DROP, ALTER MySql db (for remote servers). I just try to do that for Oracle db.
Re: How to create Oracle database using Php code? [message #441424 is a reply to message #441422] Mon, 01 February 2010 01:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Is MySQL database the same as Oracle schema or is this a real database containing multiple schemas?

You may have a look at Database Concepts to be sure we have the same vocabulary.

Regards
Michel
Re: How to create Oracle database using Php code? [message #441427 is a reply to message #441399] Mon, 01 February 2010 02:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gens
Oh, I just stated my intention and I understand your reply.

But Donald K. Burleson (the book author of "Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference") said it is possible.